I’m Sick of It!

I serve as a pastor of a small church.  As a pastor, I have hopes and dreams of producing Christlikeness in the people I serve.  I also desire to see others lives transformed by the power of Christ and His Word.  These are the things I strive for, pray for, and hope for.  Yet there comes a time when even a pastor, a “man of God,” just gets sick of things the way they are.  Here’s my list of things I’m sick of:

  1. I’m sick of people who call themselves Christians but act nothing like Christ.
  2. I’m sick of Christians who won’t make worship a priority in their lives.
  3. I’m sick of believers who don’t think serving others is necessary.
  4. I’m sick of people who say they know Christ but aren’t concerned about others knowing Him.
  5. I’m sick of praying for God’s will to be done while His people live like He’s not even there.
  6. I’m sick of begging the Lord to change people’s hearts when they don’t seem to care if they will have to answer to Him one day.
  7. I’m sick of working, praying, serving, struggling with all that I am and all that I have for people who don’t seem to care whether I live or die.
  8. I’m sick of serving a church that doesn’t seem to realize that Jesus is more important than your personal needs.
  9. I’m sick of fighting against sin and selfishness in all its ugly forms.
  10. I’m sick of the Enemy, the Devil, who keeps on doing his best to knock me down every day so I won’t keep battling on.

Most of all, I’m sick of myself, my sin, my weaknesses, and my groaning and complaining.  I’m sick of me!  I’m sick of Jesus not having first place in my life!  I’m sick of Jesus not being glorified through everything I say and do!  I hope you’re as sick of these things as I am.  Maybe then Jesus will heal our sickness!

Leave a Reply

